RULES and Clarifications

 June 12, 2020

Second Edition Rules

1. OBJECT­
WARATSEA is a two player game with one player cont rolli ng the Ax is (Ge rman & Italian) . andtheothertheAlliedfleet.TheobjectofWAR AT SEA is to control the seas as much as possibleduringthetimeframeof thegamegiveneach side’s respective forces. The winner is the player with the most “Points of Control” (hereafter referred to as POC) after eight game turns.

The game simulates surface action between capital ships. In reality the Axis did not seriously challenge Allied control of the seas except withsubmarine warfare. but this game attempts to show what could have happened had the Axis surface fleet been more aggressive. The sea was relatively unimportant to the Axis but it was the English lifeline and this is why the Axis player is given more POC for most sea areas than the Allied player. For example. loss of control of the North Sea by England would have been a major setback to the Allies while such loss was routine for the Axis.

CONTROL of a sea area goes to the sidewhich has one or more surface vessels remain ing in that area at the end of the turn. Only one side may have surface vessels remaining in that area at the end of combat. The Allies do not control any sea ar ea which contains a U-Boat at the end of combat.

2. THE MAPBOARD­

2.1 The mapboard is a diagramatic representa tion of the six major sea areas in which the European naval war was fought. Each sea area has a numerical value expressed in POC whichis awarded to the player controlling that area at the end of every turn. The Axis (German-Italian)player rece ives that total spec ified after the word” A XIS”; the Allied value follows the word” A LLIES”. Only one player can control a given area in anyone turn.

2.2 The green sections of the mapboard are Allied “ports”. There are five Allied ports in the game: USA. Malta. England. Leningrad and Russia.

2.3 The red sections of the mapboard are Axis”ports”.Thereare threeAxisportsinthegame:Italy. France. and Germany. Note that Norway is considered part of Germany for port purposes.

2.4 France does not become an active port until Turn 2. It ceases being an active port after Turn 6. Ships may not enter or leave an inactive port.

2 .5 Leningrad and Russ ia do not become activeports until Turn 3.

2.6 The entire South American continent is considered a “Neutral Port”.

2 .7 Although the US ships do not enter the game until Turn 4. the port and its repair facilities can be used immediately.

3. THE PLAYING PIECES­
3 .1 Three different colored sets of

playing pieces (henceforth known as ships) are supplied. Green units are Allied. dark blue are German and light blue are Italian.

4.1 Remove and sort the ship counters by nationality and place named reinforcements in the proper box of the TURN CHART printed at the bottom of the mapboard. Ships designated as reinforcements are easily distinguishable by the line which underscores their name.

4.2 Place all other ships in their respective ports.

4.3 British ships may start the game in England or Malta. but British reinforcements must start in England.

4.4 Italian and German ships start from their respective home ports.

4.5 Russian ships must start in Leningrad, but not prior to Turn 3 (See 15.1).

4.6 American ships must start from the USA, but not prior to Turn 4 (See 15.3).

5. SEQUENCE OF PLAY­
5 .1 Both players consult the TURN CHART and place any reinforcements in their respective ports.

5.2 The Allied player moves his ships and repairs those damaged ships which he has not moved .

5.3 The Axis player moves his ships, places U­ boats, and repairs those damaged ships which he has not moved.

5.4 Any ” Control” flags on the board previous turns are removed at this time.

5 .5 Both players simultaneously place land-based Airstrike markers from their land-based Airstrike markers.

5 .6 Both players resolve combat. one sea area at a time.

5 .6 1 The Allied player conducts all ASW attacks; any surviving. non-disabled U-boats may then attack in return.

5 .62 Both players pick their targets for all air attacks and resolve air combat.

5.63 The Allied player allocates and resolves the fire of his surface vessels to any opposing surface vessels in the same area. The Axis player then returns fire in a like manner with his own ships including those which may have been sunk or disabled by Allied fire that turn.

5. 6 4 Surface combat rounds are repeated until all ships of one side are either sunk, disabled, or voluntarily withdrawn with no pursuit.

5.7 Place proper control flag in each sea area which was controlled by a given side, and returnall ships to ports adjacent to sea areas.EXCEPTION: See instructions printed in each sea area for individual cases.

5.8 Award POC for convoys and for control of sea areas as listed on the gameboard; adjusting the POC counter up or down the POC chart as necessary .

5.9 Advance the TURN counter one square on the TURN CHART and repeat steps 5.1-5.9 till game end.

6 . MOVEMENT-

Movement rules govern initial placement of ships at the beginning of a turn and have nothing to do with speed capabilities of individual ships. Speed is used to disengage or pursue and will be covered under ‘Disengaging ‘ (12 .0).

6 .1 Ships may always move into the sea area or areas that border directly upon their port of departure .

6.2 Ships may attempt to move through an adjacent area into another area only if the first area they move through was NOT ENEMY CONTROLLED the previous turn. Therefore, on the first turn of the game all ships may attempt to move two areas.

6.3 All ships moving to an area adjacent to their port are placed first. Then ships which attempt to move two areas are placed. (For example: England to Barents Sea).

6.4 Each ship attempting to move two areas must roll a die and compare the results with the speed of the ship. If the die roll is equal to or greater than the ship’s speed the attempt fails and the ship must immediately return to either its original port or a port bordering the second sea area. The ship may not remain at sea and misses the remainder of that turn.  If the die roll is less than the ship’s speed the move is successful and the ship may remain in the second sea area for the remainder of that turn.

6.5 The Axis player may place U-boats in any sea area regardless of distance, enemy ships, or control.

6.6 Only Russian and German ships may enter the Baltic Sea.

6.7 Ships may never enter an opposing or inactive port.

6 .8 After combat resolution each ship returns to an adjacent port. See instructions printed onmapboard areas and 16.1 for exceptions.

6 .9 Ships may not move from port to port without being in a sea area during the combat resolution phase of a turn except as outlined in 6.4 above.

7. COMBAT­

7.1 Combat Resolution in WAR AT SEA is extremely simple. Each attacking unit is given a certain number of “shots equal to its Attack factor which is printed on the counter. Each “shot” entitles the attacker to one die roll.

7 .2 A die roll of “5” DISABLES the target. Adisabled counter is placed on the target and it must return to port at the conclusion of the currentroundof combat.(Exception: Disabled U­ boats must return to Germany before retu rningfire) the disabled counter is automatically removed upon entering port.

7.3 A die roll of “6” is a HIT. The die must then be rerolled to determine the extent of damage. The number rolled is the amount of damage points assessed against the target. A damage counter of the appropriate strength is placed on the target vessel. Damage is cumulative.

7.4 If damage points exceed the Defense factor of the target ship, the target is sunk.

7 .5 The SPEED of the target vessel is reduced by one per each point of damage, but speed is never reduced below 1.

7 .6 If damage points equal the Defense factorof a ship, the Attack factor becomes one unless it originally had an attack factor of O. Carrierswhich receive damage equal to their Defensefactor lose their airstrike capability until re­ paired.

7.7 “6’s” take precedence over “5’s” regard­ less of the order in which the numbers are rolled. A ship which is both sunk and disabled is considered sunk. A ship which is damaged and disabled returns to port with damage.(See 1 8 Examples of Play)

8 U BOATS

8.1 The Germans begin the game with 3 U­ boats and receiveothers in the form of reinforce­ ments as noted on the TURN CHART. There may never be more than seven U-boats in play at any one time. Excess U-boats may not be accumulat­ed for use in later turns if losses subsequently bring Axis U-boat strength below the maximum allotment.

8.2 U-boats alone cannot control a sea area but their presence in any area at the end of combat prevents the Allied player from controlling it regardless of the number of ships the Allied player may possess in that area .

8.3 U-boats are attacked as a group by all Allied ships in the same area. The Allied player rolls one die per ship, three dice per convoy, and three dice per carrier that are in the area. This represents his entire ASW (Anti-SubmarineWarfare) strength for each area .

8.4 Each time the ASW dieroll results in a”5″one U-boat is disabled and immediately returned to Germany before returning fire. Each “6” die roll eliminates (sinks) one u-boat.

8.5 All U-boats which survive the ASW attack may immediately attack any Allied ship or convoy in the area by rolling one die per surviving U-boat. U-boats may concentrate all their fire on one ship or convoy or divide it in any manner among ships in the same area . Such attacks must be predesignated however; the Axis player may not observe the results of one attack before deciding on the target for a second U-boat. Subsequent hits or disables have no effect on ships other than the specified target.

8 .6 There is only one round of U-boat combat per sea area per turn. Survivors remain in the sea area for control determination purposes.

9. LAND BASED AIRSTRIKES­

9.1 Each player has one AIRSTRIKE marker representing land based aircraft with a strike value (Airstrike factor) of 3.

9 .2 Both players are restricted as to the ports and sea areas in which they can use land based Airstrike markers. The Allied player can attack with them in Germany, Italy, France or the Mediterranean. The Axis player can attack with them only in the Barents, Baltic, Mediterranean, Malta or Leningrad. Red and white plane symbols are printed on the mapboard as ready reminders of the areas which are subject to land based air attack.

9.3 The land based Airstrike capability cannot be divided between more than one area or port per turn.

9.4 Ships which fail in a double area move attempt are returned to port prior to the combat phase and hence are subject to any air attacks launched on the port that turn.

9.5 Ships and U-boats disabled as a result of U­boat action and earlier airstrikes during that turn which return to port are not considered in the port at the time of the airstrike and thus may not be attacked there.

10. AIRSTRIKES­

10.1 Airstrikes may only be made against enemy ships in the same area or port as the attacking force. For example: a carrier in theBaltic Sea could not launch airstrikes against Leningrad although Axis land based air could.

10.2 Each player totals the number of Air­ strike factors he has in the area from both landbased and carrier based planes. (The number ofdie rolls allowed for each carrier is equal to its Airstrike factor). He then attacks up to thatnumber of enemy ships in the area by rolling one die per attack. Targets must be specifically stated before each die roll. No ship can beattacked more than once per turn from the aireven if there is more Airstrike capability thantarget ships in the area.

10.3 Air combat is simultaneous so a carriermay launch its strikes even if sunk or disabled byan opposing airstrike during the same turn.

10.4 Airstrikes are not repeated in the same area during the same turn regardless of the number of surface combat rounds which maytake place.

10.5 Airstrikes (either land or naval based) may not be launched against U-boats.The provisions of 8.3 reflect all ASW effects.

11 . SURFACE COMBAT­
11 .1 Surface combat is likely to occur when­ever the Axis player places ships in an area containing Allied ships. If, after all U-boat and Airstrike comba t has been resolved, opposingsurface ships still occupy the same sea area surface combat must follow.

11 .2 Individual ships cannot split their Attack factor between targets-all of a ship’s Attack factor must be used against the same target. Allsurface fire must be predesignated; i.e.. targetscan’t be switched during a combat round afterseeing results of previous fire.

11 .3 The Allied player lines up his ships in the area and places them adjacent to the enemy ships he wishes to attack. After he has fired, the Axis player rearranges his ships in much the same manner, to fire at the opposing ships of his choice. Axis ships sunk, damaged or disabled byAllied fire may return fire at their strength prior to the Allied attacks because combat in each round of surface combat is considered simul­taneous. After Axis fire, all disabled and sunkships are removed.

11.4 Whenever opposing surface vessels existing  in the same area after a round of surface combat. additional rounds of surface combat may be fought until only one side has surface vessels in that area.

11.5 German ships which are undamaged at the beginning of any surface combat round may add one to the die roll of all shots taken against enemy ships or convoys. Thus, “4’s” would disable a target, and “B’s” would become hits.A “6” die roll is still treated as a hit. The “plus one ” additive to the die roll is not added to the damage die reroll after each hit.

11 .6 Carriers may not be fired upon in surface combat unless all other surface vessels in the area have also been fired upon-OR-the carrier itself fires (or will fire) in surface combat during that round of combat. Therefore the British player should always inquire as to the Graf Zeppelin ‘s intentions in any surface combat before designating his own fire.

12. DISENGAGING­

12.1 At the end of each round of surface combat either side can attempt to DISENGAGE his fleet as a whole or in groups at the speed of the slowest ship in the group.

12.2 Once a player disengages a ship he must withdraw all his ships in the sea area at that time. He cannot disengage only a portion of his force, although he may disengage in separate groups and at different speeds.

12.3 The opposing player can PURSUE and force into another round of surface combat any withdrawing group of ships that are moving at a speed equal to or less than his group of pursuing ships. (See 18. Example of Play)

12.4 If a player disengages he cannot claim POC for the area even if his opponent pursues him and is subsequently sunk or disabled. In this event, no POC could be claimed by either side.

12.5 Pursuing ships can break off the engage­ment after any surface combat round, even if getting beaten, and claim POC for the area or may continue pursuit into ensuing rounds of surface combat until one side is entirely sunk or disabled, or the speed of his pursuing ships is insufficient to maintain the pursuit.

12.6 A disengaging ship which is disabled during pursuit but survives that round of surface combat escapes to port despite pursuit.

12.7 The pursuing player has the option of letting the enemy disengage or pursuing with some or all of his ships. Ships that will pursue must do so immediately. They may not be held back and be committed to pursuit after another round of combat.

12.8 The pursuing player can elect to pursue one or more disengaging groups with one or more different groups of his own ships. However, any pursuing group can only engage one group of disengaging ships and must be at least as fast as the disengaging group.

12.9 Either player may ask that the decision whether or not to disengage be written and revealed simultaneously. If both sides disen­gage neither gets control of the area.

13. REPAIRS­

13. 1 Damaged ships that have not moved, or attempted to move, during a turn can be repaired in friendly ports.

13.2 Each port contains a large white number which represents the repair facilities of that port. A port can repair up to that number of damage points each turn. Example: if two German ships each with 2 damage points spent an entire turn in France then one would be completely repaired and the “2” damage on the other would be replaced with a “1” damage marker.

13.3 Ships are free to sail while damaged.Damaged ships do not have to repair damage before sailing again.

14. CONVOYS­

14.1 Only one convoy is allowed in a given sea area at any onetime. Convoys are treated as one ship for combat purposes.

14.2 All convoys start from the USA.
14.3 Unlike other ships, convoys may stay at sea at the end of a turn and may move freely into the Barents Sea on their second turn at sea. Convoys may not attempt to move through two sea areas in the same turn.

14.4 All convoys which survive one turn in the Barents Sea may move to Russia at the end of the turn. Each convoy (even if damaged) delivered to Russia earns 3 POC for the Allied player.

14.5 After one turn at sea (in the North Atlantic) a convoy may put into England and earn 1 POC.

14.6 AconvoycanclaimPOConlyonceduring a game. Once turned in for POC it is removedfrom the game.

14.7 Disabled convoys always return to USA automatically and may sail again in later turns.

14.8 During surface combat a convoy can only be fired at if all other surface ships in the area have been damaged or disabled at the time of fire. (The Ax is cou ld conceivably attack a convoyin the first round of combat. but the designatedattacking ship(s) could fire only if every All iedship in the sea area has been already damaged,disabled or sunk at the instant of attack).

15. MINOR NAVIES

15.1 Russian ships start the game at Leningradon Turn 3 and can only be used in the Balt ic Sea.They are immue to land based air attack prior to Turn 3.

15.2 The Russian ships may sail during a turn only if a ., 5″ or ” 6″ is rolled that turn. Each shipmust be rolled for separately each turn. The Allied player has the option to use Russian shipswhich roll a 5 or 6 – he does not have to sail them just because they roll a 5 or 6.

15.3 U.S. ships are released individually into the game permanently on a die roll of ” 6″. The Allied player may roll once per turn for each in­dividual ship beginning on Turn 4. On each suc­ceeding turn the Allied player may deduct one from the release die roll such that on turn 5 only a 5 or 6 is needed to permanently release a U.S.ship; on turn 6 only a 4, 5 or 6 and so on.

15.4 USshipsmaynotmoveoutsidetheNorthAtlantic and USA.

15.5 Italian ships may not leave the Mediter­ranean except for the four cr uisers (‘ -, -7’ s)which may move into the South Atlantic if theMediterranean was not controlled by the Allieson the previous turn.

15.6 Once outside the Mediterranean on subsequent turns the Italian cruisers may attempt to venture into the North Atlantic,France, or the Neutral port

15.7 Unless the Axis player controls the Mediterranean for any four consecutive turns, the Italian fleet is subject to TAKEOVER at the beginning of Turn 8. Roll one die for each Italian ship with the results determined as follows:

‘ ,2 = Allied Control 3.4 = Scuttled
5,6 =German Control

Scuttled ships are removed from the game. Ships under Allied control are moved by and fight for the Allied player.

16. OILERS­

16.1 At the end of any turn up to and including Turn 3. German ships in the North or South Atlantic may try to stay at ‘sea and refuel with oilers. If successful, they may be placed in any sea area the following turn. If unsuccessful. they are placed in the Neutral Port.

16.2 To successfully refuel at sea. the German player must roll one die per ship per turn. On Turn1 a die roll of 1 to 5 is successful; onTurn2 a die roll of 1 to 4; and on Turn3 a die roll of 1to3 is necessary for success.

17 .
17.1 All ships disabled while in the South

NEUTRAL
Atlantic must move to the Neutral port.

PORT­

17.2 Ships in the Neutral port must leave the turn after arrival or pay’ POC per ship per turn they stay.

19. PLAY BALANCE OPTIONAL RULES:These rules may be omitted or used in any combination providing both players agree totheir use prior to the start of the game.
19 .1 Lessen the defense factor of the Bismarck and Tirpitz to 7.
19.2 Allow the Axis player to accumulate U­ boat replacements even if he currently has all 7 U-boats in action .
19.3 Allow the British player to make his initial placement of ships face down, forcing the German to move his units without knowing the exact identity of the British forces in each sea area.

Dice Questions

Q.1 [6/99] What if my opponent rolls too many dice?
A. The extra rolls should be ignored.

Q.2 [6/99] What if my opponent doesn’t roll enough dice for what he’s specified?
A. Use the dice rolled for as many results as possible. Ask your opponent to roll enough additional dice to finish interpreting the result.

Q.3 [7/99] What if the layout of the dice does not match the comments?
A. This answer is relevant only to dice servers whose results are laid out in a row/column pattern which is critical in determining the meaning of the results. If there are exactly the right number of dice to match the layout described in the comments, the dice should be read across and then down as if they were in the right layout. For example, a request whose comments imply dice in 4 columns but shows up as follows:

2 6
4 5
6 1
3 2
would be read as:

2 6 4 5
6 1 3 2
Another example, suppose the dice request calls for two columns but arrives in four. In that case, the second set of numbers shown above would be read as if it were laid out like first set of numbers shown above.

Any other layout error should result in a re-roll.

Q.4 [1/10] What if the comments that arrive with the dice clearly identify some attacks but not others?
A. This is considered an error. Most often this will result in a complete re-roll. However, if it’s possible to a) use the clearly identified dice as rolled, b) re-roll only those which were not clear, and c) not offer your opponent new decisions which could be affected by the dice being kept, then and only then should you consider allowing a partial re-roll.

Q.5 [1/05] The dice server, dice@pbm.com, used to be heavily used in the PBEM tournaments. Why has it been de-certified?
A. Unfortunately, this particular server occasionally begins re-using the same random seed for multiple dice requests — meaning that the same dice are generated for each request. Reliable dice servers occasionally go down, but they don’t send out bad results as this one does! Those who still wish to use dice@pbm.com may do so if their opponent agrees AND they request the dice twice — with the second request labeled as the “official results.” If both requests return the same result, both are discarded. Otherwise, the second is used.

Q.6 [1/16] What if my opponent doesn’t receive the dice from the dice server?
A. If you didn’t email waratseadice@gmail.com (the dice archive), there’s nothing you can do except re-roll. If you did, you can email the GM and request a copy of the emailed dice. The GMs of War at Sea and Victory in the Pacific, with permission, use the others’ dice archive for their own games. Lost email happens about once in every 6-8 games (which is approximately 1% of dice requests).

Q.7 [1/16] What if the dice request doesn’t come back?
A. First, ask the GM for the dice archive’s copy (see Q.6). But, if neither you nor your opponent have received the dice and you both agree OR it’s been 24 hours since the dice request, send a test dice request. If you get the test back (see Q.9) and the original dice request still hasn’t returned, then re-issue the request. I strongly recommend identifying such requests as 2nd (or 3rd) and stating what is to happen if earlier requests come back. I recommend making the last request authoritative (since there’s no way the original request can contain such description); these instructions are binding.

Q.8 [1/16] What if multiple dice requests are made and return, but the one identified as authoritative contains an error? Do we use the other?
A. No. Once a dice request identifies another dice request as invalid (if it’s prior to the dice coming back), that invalidated request can no longer be used even if it comes back and even if the identifying request is invalid. Treat this as if the non-authoritative dice request had never been made or returned.

Q.9 [1/16] What if the dice server is down?
A. First, send a test request to the dice server to verify that it’s not responding. Please do not contact the owner of the dice server. We risk losing their services if we pester them. If it is down, contact the GM and have him make a single contact with the owner of the dice server on behalf of all PBEM players.

Q.10 [1/10 & 1/16] The same dice request was sent more than once without any indication of which has precedence. Which do we use or is a re-roll necessary?
A. When there’s an accidental re-send or an unidentified re-roll, the results with the earliest final timestamp are used. For example, the following could be returned by dice@finberg.org (in the first attachment):

Received: from raspberrypi (localhost [127.0.0.1]) by raspberrypi (8.14.4/8.14.4/Debian-4) with ESMTP id u0JIcsON015494 for <dice@localhost>; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 18:38:54 GMT
Received: from gmail-pop.l.google.com [74.125.22.108] by raspberrypi with POP3 (fetchmail-6.3.21) for <dice@localhost> (single-drop); Tue, 19 Jan 2016 18:38:54 +0000 (UTC)
Received: by 10.107.46.169 with SMTP id u41csp2815683iou; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 10:33:35 -0800 (PST)
Received: from p3nlsmtpcp01-04.prod.phx3.secureserver.net (p3nlsmtpcp01-04.prod.phx3.secureserver.net. [184.168.200.145]) by mx.google.com with ESMTPS id w64si42781499pfi.202.2016.01.19.10.33.34 for <dice@finberg.org> (version=TLS1_2 cipher=ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256 bits=128/128); Tue, 19 Jan 2016 10:33:35 -0800 (PST)
Received: from p3plcpnl0719.prod.phx3.secureserver.net ([50.62.176.235]) by : HOSTING RELAY : with SMTP id Lb5yalzamKD5mLb5yaL75E; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 11:33:34 -0700
Received: from [198.208.72.17] (port=25279 helo=Tricorder) by p3plcpnl0719.prod.phx3.secureserver.net with esmtpsa (TLSv1.2:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:256) (Exim 4.85) (envelope-from <john@gameaholics.com>) id 1aLb5y-0005Gr-DC for dice@finberg.org; Tue, 19 Jan 2016 11:33:34 -0700
Subject: Test
From: “Greg Smith” <greg.docsmith@gmail.com>
To: <dice@finberg.org>
Message-ID: <004a01d152e7$e6edeb50$b4c9c1f0$@gameaholics.com>
Date: Tue, 19 Jan 2016 13:33:26 -0500

For vwroller.com, the results begin with:

WaS-VitP Die Roll Results
Tue, 19 Jan 2016 14:29:20 -0700

The timestamp in bold is used to determine which result was earliest. The results with the earliest timestamp are used. Note: This is important because the timestamps are not always in the same sequence (i.e., processing order is not always the same as arrival order). If the last timestamps are identical, use the next-to-last timestamp (and so on). If all timestamps are identical (a case I’ve never encountered), a re-roll will be required.

Q.11 [9/16] Why has http://www.vwroller.com/ been removed from the list of preferred dice servers?
A. Unfortunately, human beings are prone to laziness when it comes to trusting computer generated dice. VWRoller puts a summary of results at the top which encourages players to use it for results instead of the actual dice. This makes errors with respect to the number of dice rolled (too many or too few) and whether or not a bonus is applied to the rolls much less likely to be caught. As a programmer, I am reminded of the “Are you sure?” fallacy — where users simply learn to hit the save key twice in a row, bypassing the benefit of the question. The summary makes it too easy to miss an error — even if your opponent has been accurate for the last 40 or 100 dice requests. However, players are free to use this server if their opponent agrees.

Q.12 [9/16] What happens if a player has so many attacks in one area that two (or more) dice requests are needed?
A. A player must specify all attacks before or with the first request. A partial attack without specifying all of the attacks within an area is void. Note: Areas may be rolled in order — so not all areas of combat must be rolled at once. But a single area may not be split between dice requests without specifying all attacks in advance.

Example of Play

ASW & U· BOAT COMBAT: The Allied player has a convoy and carrier each worth 3 ASW die rolls plus six surface vessels for a total of 12 ASW die rolls to oppose the three German U-boats. The Allied player rolls seven misses. three ” sunks ” and two “disables”. The “sunks” are counted first and the entire German submarine force is eliminated without return fire. Had there been seven u-boats involved, three would have been eliminated, two would have been disabled and returned immediately to Germany, and the other two would be able to remain in the Barents Sea and return fire. Let’s assume instead that the Allied player rolled eleven misses and a “5”. The two remaining subs will fire at the convoy. They roll a .., .. and a “6”. The “6” is rerolled to determine the total amount of damage with a subsequent die roll of “2 ” . A “2 ” damage counter is placed on the convoy marker, The U-boat; ASW phase of the battle is over.

AIRSTRIKES: The British player has two Airstrike factors from theVictorious and allocates them against the largest German ships rolling a ” 5″ against the Bismarck and a ” 6″ on the Scharnhorst. The ” 6″ is rerolled for a damage result of ” 3″. The German player now allocates his five airstrikes (3 for land based air and two for the GrafZeppelin)against the Convoy, Victorious. Hood. Duke of York and Repulse in that order with results of: “2,6,3,3, and 4″. The hit on the Victorious is rerolled to determine damage and a ” 3 ” results thus sinking theVictorious which can absorb only two points of damage. Note that although the Victorious was sunk the effects of her airstrike remain the same because such combat is considered simultaneous even though the Allied player takes his “turn ” first. Had the Graf Zeppelin been sunk by an Allied air attack the German player would still have had five airstrikes to use during the turn.

SURFACE COMBAT: The Allied player names targets and fires first.

The Convoy, Hood, and Norfolk all fire at Scharnhorst for a total of six shots. He rolls: ” 1,3,6,2,4,2″ for a total of 1 hit. The hit is rerolled and yields two additional points of damage-enough, when added to the already existing damage, to severely cripple but not sink theScharnhorst.

Duke of York fires four times at AdmiralHipper and rolls:” 1,1,6,3″. He rerolls the hit for a total damage of 1 point. Warspite takes four shots at Graf Spee but misses with all four.

Because all the other German surface ships have been attacked, the Allied player may and does attack the German carrier. He allocates fire from both the Sussex and Repulse against the Graf Zeppelin. The Repulse rolls two “fi’s” and a “6”. The “6” is rerolledand the resulting damage of “4” sinks the GrafZeppelin.Thedisabledresults are ignored and the Sussex is left with nothing to shoot at.Her

fire capability for this turn is lost because targets can ‘t be switched once allocated.

The German player now returns fire. The rules prohibit him from attacking the convoy until all the escorts have been damaged or disabled so the Scharnhorst fires at the Hood three times. SinceScharnhorst was damaged prior to this round of combat it may not add “1 ” to its die rolls. The die rolls are ” 1,3 and 5 ” ; thus disabling theHood. Graf Zeppelin takes one shot at the Duke of York and rolls a “3 “;even with the +1 die roll adjustment for an undamaged German surface ship this is a miss. Admiral Hipper fires once at the Warspiteand rolls a “5”. This becomes a “6” with the +1 additive and the hit is rerolled for a damage count of “3”. GrafSpee fires twice at Repulsew ith no effect, havi ng rolled a “2” and ” 3″. This ends the first round of surface combat.

DISENGAGING :  Finding himself outclassed in firepower, (14 Allied shots to 4 German shots) the German announces he is disengaging prior to the second round of surface combat. He withdraws the Scharnhorst separately at a speed of 2 and the Admiral Hipper and Graf Spee together at a speed of 5.

The Allied player decides to pursue but must leave the Convoy andWarspite behind due to their reduced speed which makes it impossible for them to catch even the crippled Scharnhorst. This move guarantees that the Convoy will reach Russia regardless of the outcome of further battles. The Barents Sea will not be controlled by either side due to the presence of German U-boats and the withdrawalof the German surface ships . The British player splits his pursuit into two groups; sending Norfolk and Sussex after Scharnhorst, and theDuke of York and Repulse pursue Admiral Hipper and Graf Spee. Thesecond round of surface combat is now ready to begin. Norfolk and Sussex fire at Scharnhorst and roll a “4” and “5”, thus disabling the Scharnhorst and ensuring its escape. It returns fire rolling a “4” at Norfolk with no effect.  The turn is now over for the Norfolk and Sussex-they may not aid in further pursuit of other German vessels.

In the other pursuit, the Duke of York fires four times at the Admiral Hipper and the Repulse fires three times at the Graf Spee. All seven shots are misses, The Admiral Hipper fires once at the Repulse and rolls a “4” for no effect. The GrafSpee fires twice at the Duke of Yorkand rolls “4 and ” 5″. The Graf Spee started the round undamaged so she adds one to both die rolls obtaining a hit and a ” disabled”.The hit is rerolled and 4 damage points are assessed against the Duke of York. It returns to Russia with a “4” damage counter. The second round of surface combat is now over.

End Second Edition Rules

World Boardgaming Championships

War At Sea
Official Errata & Rules Clarifications

These clarifications come from The Avalon Hill Game Company, from questions and answers compiled by the World Boardgaming Championships/Avaloncon War At Sea Gamemasters during those tournaments, and from the War At Sea PBEM Ladder Tournament and the Boardgame Players Association PBEM Championship Tournaments. During the World Boardgaming Championships they are official.

ERRATA TO THE L2 DESIGN GROUP VERSION

British battleship Howe enters the game on turn 5, not turn 6 as printed on its counter and in the Order of Battle on the back of the Rules Book.

CLARIFICATIONS TO THE L2 DESIGN GROUP VERSION

5.7 & 5.8 Can a convoy ending a turn alone in a sea area claim the POC for that sea area even if it puts into port to claim POC at the end of the turn?
A. Yes. In the sequence of play, the placing of control flags takes place before the landing of convoys.

6.3 & 6.4 Can a ship starting the turn in a port bordering 2 or more sea areas attempt to speed roll from one of those areas to another (e.g., from Brest to the North Sea via the South Atlantic)?
A. No.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing a speed roll to the North Atlantic return to Germany or Brest?
A. No. The instructions printed on the board sea areas refer to Section 5.7, not Section 6.4. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to the Neutral Port.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in Brest and failing a speed roll to the North Atlantic return to Germany?A. No. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to Brest.

6.4. Does a player attempting speed rolls have to designate, before rolling, where the ships will base if they fail their speed rolls?
A. No. A player may observe the results of all speed rolls before determining where those ships failing their rolls must base.

6.4, 15.7 & 17.2 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing speed rolls to the Mediterranean on Turn 8 after Italian navy defection rolls return to Italy?
A. Yes. Italy remains an Axis port on Turn 8 even after Italian navy defection rolls.

page1image5822080page1image5788592page1image5786720page1image3773184

—2—

6.9 The Note after Rule 6.9 states that German ships in the South Atlantic cannot use the oiling rule if they have disengaged. Can German ships in the North Atlantic use the oiling rule if they have disengaged?
A. No.

10 Must a player predesignate all ships as targets of airstrikes, or can he review the results of each attempt before rolling another attack?
A. He may review the results of one attack before rolling another. Rule 10.2 states only that “Targets must be specifically stated before each die roll.” However, every airstrike must be against a different ship.

12 After a round of pursuit has been completed, can the disengaging player further split a group of fleeing ships?
A. Yes. However, he cannot recombine previously separated groups.

12.3 & 14.8 Can a convoy pursue a fleeing German ship and still be screened when firing?A. Yes.

13 & 14.7 Can a convoy which has been disabled to the USA repair before sailing again?
A. Yes. In order to do this, ignore the instruction in 14.7 to remove the disabled convoy from the board and treat it as a replacement.

13.1 & 16.1 Can ships which were successfully oiled at the end of one turn and then placed in a port the next turn be repaired on that turn?
A. No. Relocating them from At Sea to a port is considered moving them.

14.8 If the Allies have a convoy and another ship retreating separately from a sea area, must the Axis damage or disable the other ship before firing on the convoy?
A. No. Each separate retreat and pursuit is its own battle and is not affected by any other pursuit battles.

16.1 Which occurs first, oiling or basing?
A. Oiling occurs before either side bases its ships.

—3—
CLARIFICATIONS TO THE AVALON HILL GAME COMPANY VERSION

2.4 & 6.7 If Italian cruisers are in the North Atlantic at the end of turn 7, where do they return?
A. They are eliminated for a lack of a port to return to. If there at the end of turn 6, they would return to France, where they would be interned and likewise removed from play due to France becoming an inactive port at the start of turn 7.

5.2 Are repair points applied before airstrikes occur?A. Yes.

5.3 Does the Axis player resolve speed rolls before placing U-boats?A. Yes.

5.6 Which player picks the order in which sea areas are resolved?
A. The Axis. All combat in each area is completely resolved before resolving the next sea area.

5.62 & 10.2 Are land based airstrikes resolved before naval airstrikes?
A. No. They are resolved at the same time. Also, no ship can be a target more than once per turn from the air even if both land based and naval airstrikes are present in the area.

5.62 & 10.3 Are Allied and Axis naval airstrikes simultaneous?
A. Yes. All airstrikes are simultaneous in the same way that surface combat is. The Allied player allocates and resolves his airstrikes before the Axis, but the effects of these airstrikes do not occur until after the Axis airstrikes are allocated and resolved.

5.7 Which player returns his ships to port first?A. The Axis.

5.7 Where do Italian cruisers in the North Atlantic return to if France is not available as an Axis port?
A. They don’t; they are eliminated. Note also that any Axis ships returning to France at the end of Turn 6 are eliminated immediately and may not sail on Turn 7.

5.7 & 5.8 Can a convoy ending a turn alone in a sea area claim the POC for that sea area even if it puts into port to claim POC at the end of the turn?
A. Yes. In the sequence of play, the placing of control flags takes place before the landing of convoys.

5.7 & 12 Are Allied ships which successfully disengage in the Mediterranean Sea required to go to Malta as if they were disabled?
A. No — they could return to either Malta or England.

5.7 & 12 Are ships which successfully disengage in the South Atlantic required to go to the Neutral Port as if they were disabled?
A. Axis ships could also go to France (if an active port). German ships may not oil at sea if they have retreated, however. (Note that this is contrary to Avalon Hill errata stating that retreated German ships may attempt to oil.)

6.3 & 6.4 Can a ship starting the turn in a port bordering 2 or more sea areas attempt to speed roll from one of those areas to another (e.g., from France to the North Sea via the South Atlantic)?
A. No.

page3image5821040page3image5828736

—4—

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing speed rolls to the North Atlantic return to Germany or France?
A. No. The instructions printed on the board sea areas refer to Section 5.7, not Section 6.4. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to the Neutral Port. A ship which returns to the Neutral Port as a consequence costs its side one POC. Similarly, a British ship failing a speed roll to the Barents after Turn 2 may return to England or Russia.

6.4 Can Axis ships starting the turn in France and failing speed rolls to the North Atlantic return to Germany?A. No. Ships which fail a speed roll must return to their original port or one bordering the second sea area. As there is no port bordering the North Atlantic, they must return to France.

6.4. Does a player attempting speed rolls have to designate, before rolling, where the ships will base if they fail their speed rolls?
A. No. A player may observe the results of all speed rolls before determining where those ships failing their rolls must base.

6.4, 15.7 & 17.2 Can Axis ships starting the turn in the Neutral Port and failing speed rolls to the Mediterranean on Turn 8 after Italian navy defection rolls return to Italy?
A. Yes. Italy remains an Axis port on Turn 8 even after Italian navy defection rolls.

7.1 May a player refuse to fire in a combat round to avoid disabling a ship he hopes to sink in a later combat round?
A. Yes, but the target is not considered fired upon for screening purposes in this case (see answer to 11.6 below).

7.2 May German or Italian ships disabled in the North Atlantic go to France?A. Yes, on turns 2 through 6.

7.6 If a carrier receives damage equal to its defense factor, thus losing its airstrike capability, must it be fully repaired to regain its airstrike capability or will partial repairs suffice?
A. Partial repairs will suffice.

7.6 & 8.3 Does a carrier still have its full ASW capacity even when it has lost its airstrike capacity due to damage?
A. Yes.

8.1 Can eliminated U-boats be returned to the game as reinforcements?A. Yes.

9.5 & 10.5 Section 9.5 says that “ships and U-boats disabled . . . which return to port are not considered in the port at the time of the airstrike and thus may not be attacked there.” Does this imply that 10.5 is wrong and U- boats may be attacked by airstrikes if they stay in port?
A. No. U-boats may not be attacked by airstrikes under any circumstances.

10 Must a player predesignate all ships as targets of airstrikes, or can he review the results of each attempt before rolling another attack?
A. He may review the results of one attack before rolling another. Rule 10.2 states only that “Targets must be specifically stated before each die roll.” However, every airstrike must be against a different ship.

page4image5814384page4image5824160page4image5812928

—5—

10.2 Rule 10.2 states that a ship can be attacked once (one die) by air. What about one ship in port? Is only one die roll allowed or three (the attack strength of LBA)?
A. Ships in port may also only be attacked by one die. The additional airstrike factors are lost.

11.6 Can a ship with an attack factor of 0 “fire” upon another ship so as to fulfill the “screening” requirement that would allow another ship to fire on a more valuable target?
A. No — ships must have a usable Attack Factor and must actually roll dice to “fire” for screening purposes. Also, to reach opposing carriers, you must fire on all screening ships in the current round of combat.

12 After a round of pursuit has been completed, can the disengaging player further split a group of fleeing ships?
A. Yes. However, he cannot recombine previously separated groups.

12.3 & 14.8 Can a convoy pursue a fleeing German ship and still be screened when firing?A. Yes.

12.5 If a group of ships is pursuing, can an individual ship break off pursuit, or must the entire group discontinue the pursuit?
A. Individual ships may discontinue pursuit at the end of any round.

13 Can British ships repair in the United States?
A. Yes — on turn 4 or thereafter. (Note that this is contrary to an explicit statement in Section 2.7 which states that the U.S. port is available immediately.)

13 & 14.4 Can a convoy return to the United States to repair at the end of a turn in the North Atlantic?
A. No. After its turn in the North Atlantic, it must either move to the Barents or put into England for 1 POC.

13 & 14.7 Can a convoy which has been disabled to the USA repair before sailing again?A. Yes. However, it may not voluntarily return to port to repair.

13 & 15.2 If a damaged Russian ship rolls to see if it can move, may it then repair in Leningrad?
A. Yes. The Allied player may observe both Russian die rolls before deciding whether to move or repair either ship. Russian ships need not move merely because a 5 or 6 was rolled.

13.1 & 16.1 Can ships which were successfully oiled at the end of one turn and then placed in a port the next turn be repaired on that turn?
A. No. Relocating them from At Sea to a port is considered moving them.

14.3 Can convoys remain at sea indefinitely so as to use their ASW capability?
A. No. They may remain in each of the North Atlantic and Barents for one turn only. After their turn in the North Atlantic, they must either move to the Barents or put into England for 1 POC. After their turn in the Barents, they must put into Russia for 3 POC. If disabled, after returning to the U.S. they may again spend one turn in each of the North Atlantic and the Barents. (Note that this is contrary to strategies mentioned in some articles in the General.)

14.4 If a convoy in the Barents successfully disengages (that is, outruns its pursuers), may it put into Russia for 3 POC?
A. Yes. If it is disabled, however, it must return to the U.S.

page5image5832480page5image5812720page5image5819168page5image5823120page5image5822912page5image5803568page5image5787968

—6—

14.5 If a convoy in the North Atlantic successfully disengages, may it put into England for 1 POC? May it go to the Barents on the next turn?
A. Yes, it may do either. If it is disabled, it must return to the U.S.

14.8 Does a convoy lose its special screening protection if it fires?
A. No. It may fire every combat round and still may not be fired upon unless all other Allied ships in the area are damaged or disabled.

14.8 If all Allied ships are damaged, can a convoy still be screened as though it were a carrier under Rule 11.6?A. No, the rule is specific that a convoy may be fired upon when all other ships have been damaged or disabled.

14.8 If the Allies have a convoy and another ship retreating separately from a sea area, must the Axis damage or disable the other ship before firing on the convoy?
A. No. Each separate retreat and pursuit is its own battle and is not affected by any other pursuit battles.

15.5 Can Italian cruisers enter the South Atlantic on turn 1?A. Yes.

15.6 Can Italian cruisers move through the North Sea to reach the North Atlantic from France if the South Atlantic is Allied-controlled?
A. No.

15.7 Can formerly Italian battleships and battlecruisers now controlled by the Allies or Germans on turn 8 move out of the Mediterranean?
A. Yes. Also, Italian cruisers now controlled by the Allies or Germans may move into the North Sea. However, all previous movement restrictions apply to ships still controlled by the Italians.

15.7 If Italian navy defection rolls have occurred?
A. Yes. Also, Italian cruisers now controlled by the Allies or Germans may move into the North Sea. However, all previous movement restrictions apply to ships still controlled by the Italians.

16.1 Must successfully oiling ships be placed in a sea area on the next turn, or can they be placed in a port?A. Either. However, they must be placed on the board. In order to attempt to oil at sea again on the next turn, they must end that turn in the North or South Atlantic.

16.1 Which occurs first, oiling or basing?
A. Oiling occurs before either side bases its ships.

16.2 Must the Axis player predesignate all ships attempting to oil before the rolls are made, or can he review the results of each attempt before committing another ship?
A. Ships to be oiled do not have to be predesignated.

%d bloggers like this: